The 4 Stages Book Excerpt

The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety framework acknowledges that we’re humans first and employees second. The framework follows a universal pattern that reflects the natural progression of human needs in social settings. These needs exist across demographics, psychographics, nations, and cultures. 

What's inside?

two illustrative hands in a circle

Stage One: Inclusion Safety

Can I be my authentic self? Inclusion safety satisfies the basic human need to connect and belong. In this stage worth precedes worthiness. All you have to do to qualify for inclusion safety is be human and harmless.

icon of a person reading a book

Stage Two: Learner Safety

Can I grow? Learner safety satisfies the basic human need to learn and grow. In this stage, fear is detached from mistakes, and mistakes are rewarded as part of the learning process. To qualify for learner safety you must engage in the learning process.

icon of three stick figures collaborating

Stage Three: Contributor Safety

Can I create value? Contributor safety satisfies the basic human need to make a difference and offer meaningful contributions. When we create contributor safety for others, we empower them with autonomy, guidance, and encouragement in exchange for effort and results.

icon of a mountain with a flag

Stage Four: Challenger Safety

Can I be candid about change? Challenger safety satisfies the basic human need to make things better. When we create challenger safety, we give air cover (protection) in exchange for candor.

Based on The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety

By Timothy R. Clark

This book addresses broken human interaction. It decodes the science of silence and explores what it takes to liberate our voices and connect effectively. It’s the first practical, hands-on guide that provides a research-based framework to help leaders transform their organizations into sanctuaries of inclusion and incubators of innovation.

In a world where culture is either created by design, or by default, Clark encourages readers to become cultural architects in their social spheres. This thoughtful and pragmatic guide demonstrates that if you banish fear, install true performance-based accountability, and create a nurturing environment of vulnerability and growth, your teams will perform beyond your expectations, and even beyond theirs.

The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety Books stacked

Download Your Copy of

The 4 Stages Book Excerpt