The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety Ladder of Vulnerability™

The most practical way to increase psychological safety is to model acts of vulnerability yourself and reward the vulnerable acts of others. The Ladder of Vulnerability™ will give you examples of vulnerable acts in each of The 4 Stages.

What's inside?

two illustrative hands in a circle

Acts of Vulnerability in Stage 1: Inclusion Safety

Inclusion Safety expresses one’s identity and attempts to connect with, affirm, or protect the identity and dignity of others.

icon of a person reading a book

Acts of Vulnerability in Stage 2: Learner Safety

Learner Safety relates to learning and the discovery process. Because learning is fraught with uncertainty and risk, every person brings some level of inhibition and anxiety to the learning process.

icon of three stick figures collaborating

Acts of Vulnerability in Stage 3: Contributor Safety

Contributor Safety relates to making a meaningful contribution and reflect a willingness to be held accountable for your performance.

icon of a mountain with a flag

Acts of Vulnerability in Stage 4: Challenger Safety

Challenger Safety relates to challenging the status quo and creating value in new and different ways through innovation.

Based on The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety

By Timothy R. Clark

This book addresses broken human interaction. It decodes the science of silence and explores what it takes to liberate our voices and connect effectively. It’s the first practical, hands-on guide that provides a research-based framework to help leaders transform their organizations into sanctuaries of inclusion and incubators of innovation.

In a world where culture is either created by design, or by default, Clark encourages readers to become cultural architects in their social spheres. This thoughtful and pragmatic guide demonstrates that if you banish fear, install true performance-based accountability, and create a nurturing environment of vulnerability and growth, your teams will perform beyond your expectations, and even beyond theirs.

The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety Books stacked

Download Your Copy of

The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety Ladder of Vulnerability™